Aaron Kleier Concludes 2020 Regular Season No. 1 in the National Standings with Victory at the Monster Energy Tour’s Airlie Beach Invitational

By: Kacie Albert  Sunday, November 15, 2020 @ 5:09 PM

Aaron Kleier overtook the No. 1 ranking in PBR Australia compliments of his event win in Airlie Beach.

AIRLIE BEACH, Queensland – Marking his fourth PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Australia event victory of 2020, Aaron Kleier (Clermont Queensland) inched one step closer to history Saturday evening as the 2020 regular-season came to a close, winning the second installment of the Monster Energy Tour’s Airlie Beach Invitational to overtake the nation’s No. 1 ranking.

After beginning the tour stop 22.5 points behind No. 1 Lachlan Richardson (Gresford, New South Wales), Kleier got off to a hot start inside Whitsunday Sportspark, tying for the Round 1 win after he covered Bucksnort (Peter Wallace) for 85.5 points.

Continuing the momentum, Kleier completed his sweep of PBR’s debut in Airlie Beach when he reached the requisite 8 aboard POA Fully Locked & Loaded (Dittmann Bucking Bulls) for an event-best 89 points in the championship round.

The 22-year-old exited the Queensland event $2,405.40 richer, while having also netted a critical 78.5 national points.

In tandem with Richardson going 0-for-1, bucked off by Flyin Hippie (Peter Wallace) in an uncharacteristic 1.86 seconds in Round 1, Kleier was able to leap-frog the weathered veteran for the No. 1 ranking, now 56 points out front of No. 2 Richardson leading into the 2020 PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour Grand Finals.

Should Kleier once again win the PBR Australia Championship in 2020 he would become the first rider in league history to win the nation’s championship in three consecutive seasons. Additionally, Kleier would be on the precipice of tying David Kennedy (Kyogle, New South Wales) for winningest rider in Australian history. Kennedy is a four-time PBR Australia Champion, winning the title in 2009-2010, 2012 and 2014.

Following the PBR Airlie Beach Invitational double-header, the 2020 season will conclude with the PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour Grand Finals on Nov. 20-21 in Townsville, Queensland. At the season-culminating event, the nation’s Top 22 riders will battle it out one final time in an effort to be crowned the 2020 PBR Australia Champion.

Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland) was second at the PBR Airlie Beach Invitational, collecting 58 national points and $1,379.40.

As the only other rider to go a perfect 2-for-2, the 20-year-old covered Silent Rage (Dittmann Bucking Bulls) for 82 points in Round 1, before reaching the whistle on Gangatino (Brandenburg/MJ Bucking Bulls) for 86 points in the championship round.

With a berth to his second consecutive PBR Australia Grand Finals solidified, Fielder climbed two positions in the national standings, rising from No. 8 to No. 6. He is now within 397.5 points of No. 1 Kleier.

Third was 22-year-old sensation Sam Woodall (Heywood, Victoria), who tied for the Round 1 win with Kleier compliments of his matching 85.5-point score earned aboard Iron Jacket (Peter Wallace).

Woodall’s hopes of victory came to a heart-breaking end in the championship round when he was bucked off by Black Tuxedo (Peter Wallace) in a close 5.91 seconds.

Ahead of his career-first appearance at the PBR Australia Grand Finals, Woodall maintained his No. 5 position in the national standings, 350.5 points back of the No. 1 ranking.

Jake Curr (Mount Isa, Queensland), a top contender for the 2020 PBR Australia Rookie of the Year honor, was fourth.

He rode Hair Trigger (Brandenburg Bucking Bulls) for 83.5 points in the opening round to collect a check for $570, in addition to 29 national points which allowed Curr to climb from No. 4 to No. 3 in the national standings.

Curr, who is preparing to make his PBR Australia Grand Finals debut, is now within 278.5 points of No. 1 Kleier.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Jackson Gray (Barcaldine, Queensland).

Maintaining his No. 9 ranking in the national standings, Gray covered Tiger King (Brandenburg Bucking Bulls) for 80 points in Round 1 to earn 14 national points and $239.40.

In the bull pen, Black Tuxedo was the high-marked bull of the event. He was marked an Airlie Beach Invitational-leading 44.5 points when he bested Woodall in the final round.

One additional bovine athlete was marked in excess of 44 points. POA Fully Locked and Loaded was scored 44 points when he combined with Kleier for his event-winning 89-point ride in the championship round.

Fans can relive all the action for the 2020 PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour’s Airlie Beach Invitational on RidePass starting at 8:00 a.m. AEST on Sunday, November15 at RidePass.com or via the RidePass app available on iOS, Android and Roku.

The PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour is anticipated to next travel to Townsville, Queensland, and the Townsville Entertainment Centre for the 2020 PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour Grand Finals on Nov. 20-21. The tour stop will feature the Top 22 riders in the PBR Australia National standings battling it out one final time in an effort to be crowned the 2020 PBR Australia Champion. Action will get underway at 8:00 p.m. AEST on Friday, November 20, and at 7:30 p.m. AEST on Saturday, November 21.  

Stay tuned to PBRAustralia.com.au for the latest event information.

PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour – PBR Airlie Beach Invitational 2
Whitsunday Sportspark – Airlie Beach, Queensland
Event Leaders (Round 1- Round 2-Event Aggregate-Payout-Australian Points)
1. Aaron Kleier, 85.5-89-174.5-$2,405.40-78.5
2. Brady Fielder, 82-86-168-$1,379.40-58
3. Sam Woodall, 85.5-0-85.5-$1,105.80-43.5
4. Jake Curr, 83-0-83-$570-29
5. Jackson Gray, 80-0-80-$239.40-14
6. Brendan Buckholz, 79-0-79-$0-8
7. Mitchel Paton, 75-0-75-$0-6
Bryn Francis, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Dan Ruhland, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Tyler Morgan, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Sonny Schafferius, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Rohan Markham, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Michael Smith, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Lawson Nobbs, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Lane Mellers, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Lachlan Slade, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Kurt Shephard, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Kelsey Pavlou, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Joseph Down, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Jake Whalan, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Jack Keats, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Cameron McLennan, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Cody Heffernan, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Caiden Sandilands, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Budd Williamson, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Brody Woodard, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Braydon Wellby, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Bailey Woodard, 0-0-0.00-$0-0
Beau Willis, 0-0-0.00-$0-0